Cola addict

I am joining this forum to help myself beat my cola addiction.
I have been gaining a lot of weight and it is due to my strong urge to eat fast food with a cola. I grew up watching my mom gain weight and withdraw into her own food addictions.
I haven’t been able to go longer than 6 days without a coke…and that was once 4 months ago.
People continually ask me if I am pregnant because my belly continues to grow because I give into my cravings.
I turn to cola and fast food when I am stressed or angry or sad.
I have a couple family members battling sex addictions and I decided if they can fight that I can try to fight my cola addiction too. In the end it is all about how our brain responds to the chemicals. I feel a lot of guilt and shame and anger and annoyance that I cant get it together. I work in the mental health field and so I know the skills I just don’t apply them.
I go to counceling but I need a place to check in.
Thanks for listening.

14 Likes

Several folks here battling food addictions and you will find (as I have) that certain thoughts and behaviors are common across all addictions. The good news is, many of the tools a d recovery strategies are common as well. Welcome the forum.

8 Likes

I have up diet coke before alcohol. No soda for me…it was tough that first week…i could barely keep my eyes open, I was grouchy. After about a week it got better. I drank a lot of water. There are similarities in giving up soda. You get an urge, get on here and occupy your mind. You can do this

3 Likes