Day 1, new in here!

Hi all!

First, thank you all for this great community. Although I’m new here, reading your posts have helped me already a lot.

Alcohol have completely ruined my life. I lost my job, mental health, my wife left me and I can’t see my kids as often as I’d like to. I’ve been drinking heavily for over 20 years although I was 5 years sober before I relapsed again. Now it’s my day 1 and this time I’m not gonna give up. I’m craving booze, weed and pills, the reality just seems too overwhelming. But I have no other choice than to stay sober because I wanna feel joy again, I wanna enjoy of my life. Right now I’m anxious, in panic, full of guilt and shame, but I know it will get better.

I’m also bipolar and borderline, so that adds some troubles into my muddy waters. Right now life seems hopeless, I can’t see the light, but I know I’m not alone with these feelings.

Thanks again for this community! You all rock!

32 Likes

No , you are not alone…and you will see the light. Congratulations on your Day One!

4 Likes

Thank you! That means a lot.

3 Likes

How are you doing? Sending you extra strength to get through the day. Remember one day at a time.

2 Likes

Welcome.

Fellow bipolar addict here too.

4 Likes

Keep working it! It works. We are here for you.

3 Likes

Thank you! I’m struggling today mentally, feeling so depressed and hopeless. But I won’t give up, staying sober is crucial.

6 Likes

Yes it is!. I feel you. I just had breakfast and probably going for a nap soon. Hang in there.

2 Likes

Welcome to the site @MrMoustache
As you can see, there are many here on a similar journey as yours. I hope you will find inspiration from them and I know you will find support one moment at a time you can do this. I’m glad that you are here and I look forward to you going forward.

2 Likes

Thank you so much! Same to you, hang in there. We got this!

2 Likes

Thank you! This community is awesome, it truly gives me hope.

1 Like