I’m finding it real hard to stay sober

Hi I’m new to this, I’m finding it real hard to stay sober longer then a week, I mean I keep going back to it due to a custody battle with my ex over my son and also loosing both my grandparents within 10 weeks of each other this year. The longest iv gone is 15 days sober but then I start getting nightmares and then the next day I’m back on the alcohol. Iv never spoke about this to anyone and thought this is might be a good place to start… am I just a weak person or do I just need help?!

14 Likes

You’re a brave person looking for help, nothing weak about that. I would suggest recovery meetings if you’re willing. This forum is a great resource with all kinds of great people. I wish you well, reach out anytime

4 Likes

Welcome Dan! It’s a process, it was for me anyway…quit and fall off the wagon. It’s so ingrained in us that it’s like cutting off a limb. I actually went through mourning the loss of it.
BUT it can be done; think of how it feels to be fully present in any situation and clear headed!

3 Likes

Hey, yeah iv had a really shit year tbh. I suffer from depression and severe anxiety so every time I go to take the first step to get help I run for the hills. It’s not that I don’t want the help because I do I just can’t bring myself to open up to anyone about how I feel or what I’m going tho. I was hoping that this was the first step of going though that process

1 Like

Welcome Dan. We all need help. And alone, we are all very weak against this battle. Surrendering and Building a support base is key.
Here are two good threads to start:

I hope to see you around.

3 Likes

Thank you everyone that’s replying it’s giving me an idea of how I need to go forward. I’m so glad I joined this because I know I’m not alone

8 Likes