I relapse yesterday with alcohol... im so mad at myself

I relapse yesterday, i feel bad about it and dont remember conversation i had with my neighbour and landlord. My life is unmanageable. But im not giving up on sobriety. Back at day 1 today! I woke up early and will be continuing my routine that i set for myself… recovery is hard but im worth it.

20 Likes

Yes you are.:blush:

1 Like

It’s good not to beat yourself up over it. Anytime I relapse, I write down the reasons I did, and why I don’t want to again. It helps me to identify what I’m thinking when it happens, so I can go back and read it when I’m thinking of drinking again. I think it’s helped me. Best of luck! You’ve got this! :grinning:

5 Likes

It happens. Glad you are back on track today.
I am new at this so don’t feel I can offer much advice. Except this. Let go of yesterday.

3 Likes

In November of last year, I had my final relapse. I made a giant ass out of myself.(again)

It gave me the willingness to focus on recovery and change behaviors I wasnt willing to change previously.

It was the best thing that happened! Now I have been sober for over a year, and I feel great!

Wishing the same for you!

12 Likes

My story echoes Jason’s relapsed for an open bar wedding. Finally it clicked and I am sober over a year as well. What worked for me was giving up. Saying I can’t do this alone. I really immersed myself in our community here. Read and read again and posted when it struck me.(There are people here from all over the global. Some with similar stories as yours. Find them and connect.) Prayed alot and focused on hobbies both old and new. It IS possible. Be kind to yourself and focus on YOUR journey. I didn’t use AA but I’m not opposed to it. I’m from the school of “Whatever it takes.” switch up your routine, dust yourself off. You CAN and you WILL. We are ALL rooting for you! I wish you continued luck on your journey.

12 Likes

I went thru that cycle. Glad you are back on the sober path.