In need of advice

I’m new to this. I’ve been sober for a little over a month. I have had absolutely no help and have done it all by myself. I’m sure it’s normal to have a bad day and need a drink but how do you not let yourself? Any advice?

6 Likes

Welcome Bailey! You’re right that it’s not easy. Getting past that first month, a lot of people have noticed that it takes more than just wanting it. It takes effort & learning & activity of recovery, in support from people who have walked the path too. Do you have some groups you can attend?

2 Likes

Welcome and congrats on your month+!

Personally, I couldn’t do it by myself for more than a couple weeks at best, so in my book what you’ve done is amazing.

I want my DOC on bad days, good days and in between. I want it to wake up, to fall asleep, to make myself feel better, to congratulate myself. Unfortunately, I put it before everything else. I hurt myself and others.

I realized there’s no shame in needing someone else’s help. And there are people out there who will truly help me and ask for nothing in return because someone did the same for them. So now, I do the same for others as was done for me.

Getting better with others’ help also made it easier. I could draw on their experience, strength and hope. Didn’t make much sense to me to reinvent the wheel when it’s already been done millions of times successfully. Shamelessly copying what someone else’s steps to success is encouraged.

So I sought out successful people, and I did what they did. And I kept finding successful people and stole their steps until I had a nice little box full of ways. Then I committed to being willing to use everything in that box if I had to to stay sober today. Then I did the same thing again the next day. Rinse and repeat.

4 Likes

No support or groups. I’m not really good with stuff like that!

1 Like

Thank you!