Moderation Attempts Failed Me Too Many Times

Hello! First: thank you to this community, and all of you who post stories and updates on here. I’m a newbie, and already impressed with you folks, and wish you all a great day, whereever you are in life.

I’ll try and keep my story reasoning for joining here short (ish!). I’ve been a heavy drinker for 22 years. I grew up in a small down where getting drunk on weekends and holidays was the high school senior norm, and I continued that on drinking most nights in university and all through sports and social life in my 20s and early-mid 30s. I’m lucky that drinking didn’t impact my education or career, but it has negatively impacted my relationships with my wife and was a big factor in a previous LTR breakup. It’s also been an extremely expensive habit. I recognize I’ve caused legitimate trust issues.

Alcohol is so pervasive in my culture, corporate and social circles (I live in a major Canadian city), I thought it would be in my best interest in recent years for me to heavily cut back, but remain a social occasional drinker. I tried many different forms of moderation (I.e. only on weekends, only at ‘major events’, time of day cutoff, only after I’ve done XYZ productive tasks in a day, etc). All of those attempts and ‘strategies’ have failed me multiple times. I finally got this app around 4 weeks ago, and I’ve had to reset my counter twice. Resetting the counter really makes me think hard about what caused me to drink, and what my willpower situation was. It’s not a good feeling, and requires me to address harsh truths.
Reset #1 about 10 days ago, my father in law had a beer in his hand to offer me, and at first I politely declined, and hesitated for 10 seconds before giving in to temptation. I really regretted it as soon as I finished it.