Runners in 2023 - 5K/10K/13.1/26.2/Ultra

Hi! I’ve been running for about 10 years. Throughout those 10 years, I have come to realize that, for me, running is 1 item in my tool bag that helps me focus on my sobriety. I recall many days when I have said to myself, “If I run today, I will not drink.” I have completed 4 half marathons and a handful of 5Ks & 10Ks. I am signed up for the St. Jude marathon in Nashville, TN in April. It will be my first 26.2. Its a huge jump in distance for me. Im not a fast runner. I just enjoy it. Any other runners here?

35 Likes

Hey there!!

I have been running since quitting smoking 14 years ago…it helped me then and it helps me now. Sanity fix when I lace up!! I run slow and steady (like seriously slow) and my mileage is anywhere from 1-7 miles a run. Never done races, competition gives me hives (family of upbringing I am naming you here!). :smirk:

Congratulations on the races and your upcoming!! Hopefully you have a solid training program in place for the jump up in mileage. My daughter has done many (Disney!) races, including their halfs and marathons (including the Dopey …ouch!!). Anyway, she finds the Galloway method of training / running super helpful, especially with the longer runs. If you haven’t looked into it, see what you think.

How is the Nashville course? I assume you live around there, so it won’t be a change in temp/humidity/etc for you.

Very exciting! Congrats!!

6 Likes

I am a runner as well. Getting back into it as I continue to recover from an injury. Slow and steady. Glad to be here!

5 Likes

Hey! Not a runner (currently pregnant and walking a lot though!) have you ever read Running Ransom Road? It’s a recovery memoir that centers around marathon running and is really well written. If I remember correctly, it has some descriptions of drinking life…mostly hangovers, but probably drinking as well, so…if that’s triggering maybe skip it, but I found the book and audible to both be great reads/listens

6 Likes