So.. I'm new here

I’m new to the sober living, like, 3 days in. I didn’t necessarily drink every day but I couldn’t wait for the weekend. I could never have just one, or two, I would drink until I was black out drunk. I grew up in a family of alcoholics, my parents still drink constantly every day. So needless to say it started to scare me. I’m a mom of 3 and I don’t want my kids childhood to be like mine was. I haven’t told friends, because I don’t want the judgement, or feel like they are acting weird around me etc. This is all so new to me. This is hard for me to even share this on here, but I’m hoping for encouragement and friendships from some like minded people, on this scary yet I know will be so rewarding journey to sobriety. P.S. it was nice waking up this morning, and not feeling hungover. I felt a sense of accomplishment. :slight_smile:

34 Likes

Welcome Nicole! It’s nice to meet you. Its obvious you want a better life for yourself. You are showing so much courage opening up about it. I am sure you will find it.

The early days are wonderful, as you cleanse and start feeling the positives of not drinking. It’s a good time to find other activities to do with your new free time. Cooking, walks, photography, reading, crafts - the list goes on and on! (And there’s a thread for just about all those things here - search around and you’ll find some great ones.)

It’s also a good time to learn a bit about recovery and sober, fully present for today living :innocent: There’s a lot of good threads of readings and groups and podcasts - this one is one of my faves:
Resources for our recovery

It’s good to see you Nicole. Remember: you’re a good person, a worthy person, who deserves a safe, sober life where you can be your full self, fully present. You belong, and you matter.

6 Likes

Welcome and well done making a positive change!

3 Likes

Thank you !

1 Like

Thanks so much :slight_smile:

1 Like

Welcome to the forum @npine!