Staying sober on home time from working off

So I’m a truck driver gone throughout the week and home on the weekends, so staying away from alcohol is a breeze through the week. But as soon as I get home on Friday evenings it’s on, and doesn’t stop till late Saturday night. It’s caused several fights, disconnects, etc. I’m over 22 years old and every since I turned 21 I’m not sure if there’s been a weeekend I haven’t drank the whole time till I just would pass out finally. The horrible thing is I have a wife and 2 boys. My oldest is 2 and then I have a 2 month old, and I just feel like a horrible father but I can’t break this cycle. I feel like joining this app is helping my confidence but today will be my first day back home and I’m just wondering if anyone had any advice with breaking that habit of taking advantage of the little amount of home time that you have and drinking as much as you can with it? I know that sounds horrible but that’s where I’m at. Any advice would be great, even if you’re home everyday.

4 Likes

Hello @TheDad and welcome to TS. You’ve made a good choice to pop in for a chat. This shows you’re determined to make changes to drinking habits that have caused friction at home. Raising two little ones can also be like a full time job, on top of your truck driving role and other responsibilities.

I just want you to know that you’re not alone. There are heaps of people here who get you and can offer support at any time. The beauty of a worldwide community. Read stories and ask questions. Keep on truckin’, you’ve got this!

3 Likes