Swamped by guilt

Hi guys, this is my first time sharing anything honestly I just need a place to vent but any words of encouragement are appreciated.

Last month I decided to quit cocaine, I had a breakdown over how helpless I felt, and with some support from my friends I’ve made it 16 days (not a lot but it has felt like months). I’m still struggling every other day or so, but the worst of it for me has been guilt.

I just feel guilty that I could have let it get as far and as bad as I did; all the money I could have spent getting my life back together and opportunities I’ve wasted the last year, but mostly the time. I regret letting it consume me to the point that I grew distant from my friends. The ones who have stuck around with me never really knew how to help me bc you have to help yourself, and I’m really feeling the chasm in all of my relationships. It hurts me to know how much I’ve hurt people and all the lies I’ve told, the times I’ve lashed out at my family for no reason because I was on a crash.

Just wish I could take it all back and start over but I know that’s not an option. I just really want to do better in the future esp for my friends bc the people I still have I definitely don’t deserve any of them

6 Likes

Hey Zach welcome to the forum and congrats on your 16 days.

I don’t know about you but I did not have a choice about letting my drug use get as bad as it did. Once I came to terms with the fact that I was an addict and that addiction is a progressive disease I started to be able to let some of that guilt and shame go. I did a lot of unimaginable things while I was in active addiction that I felt so much shame around but that is no way to live. I know that the way I live while I am using is not who I am when I am clean. I don’t think the same, I don’t act the same… I am not the same person.