I Am New to This!

Hi There!
I just took my first step in admitting, out loud, my addiction to another person, which is my therapist. It was difficult. I just don’t know where to start with this. I knew I’ve had a problem for years, yet always had excuses for not really facing it. of course, as we all know, alcohol is a progressive disease, and it really progressed with me during the Pandemic. My husband has become increasingly concerned, as am I. I easily drink a bottle of wine every night, then I finish with a couple of shots of vodka. I forget how/when I go to bed, and when I wake up, it’s pure regret! I have developed a love/hate relationship with alcohol. Facing this is scary…I don’t know how my world will look like without alcohol. Holidays, vacations, social gatherings, DAILY LIFE, etc. My husband and myself have a strong social life and everything around involves alcohol. Our friends love to drink, but they don’t have a problem. They can stop at 2-3 drinks, but I can’t…of course they all see that I have a problem. Its all so embarrassing and shame ridden.
My therapist recommends that I do not quit cold turkey prior to being under my doctor’s care. I have an appointment with her tomorrow.

21 Likes

Hey there and welcome. First, congratulations on admitting it to someone, that’s hard. Second, I’m proud you’re going to the doctor to get their support and advice on your journey everyone is different with their body, age amount they drink and how it will affect them. If there’s one thing I learned, personally, I don’t focus ahead on the vacations or holidays or next weekend, I focus one hundred percent on the moment I’m in and the day I’m in and make sure I make it through that one day and go to bed that day sober. I’m glad you’re here. This place helps me every single day.

14 Likes

Thank You SO much!!! I feel understood here and knowing that I’m not alone in this is comforting. :heart:

8 Likes