Day 1. New mindset

On Feb 10th 2022 I made a decision to be sober from alcohol due to it causing me to have mental breakdowns for a few days after. This last weekend I was celebrating my sisters birthday and was surrounded by old friends I hadn’t seen in a while. I thought I would be okay to have a drink because I had decided to become sober for my mental health not because I was an addict. After this last weekend I am now grappling with the idea that I am an addict. I am holding a lot of shame and guilt for my actions over the last three days. I am going into this now with the mindset that I am an addict and can’t just have one drink. I missed worked, lied, and overall did not make choices that aligned with my values. I have been reading through some posts but I feel like I am intruding on a community that is not for me. For context, I am a therapist and have worked in rehab hospitals and attended many AA meetings as a therapist/co moderator (the groups knew I was a therapist and I was there to support the AA people who came in to the lead the groups in the hospital). I am trying not to compare my journey to others but I can’t shake the voice in my head that says I am making this all up, being dramatic, and seeking attention.

I also have an addiction to benzodiazepines which feels very different than my relationship to alcohol. I have been sober from benzodiazepines for almost five years but contribute a lot of that success to lack of access to those pills. For example: I Get craving for benzodiazepines and today those cravings are strong. I feel safe in this recovery though because I do not have access to them. But with alcohol I am not having any cravings and in fact actively do not want to touch it ever again. The problem seems to be that if I do have one drink I don’t stop. I do not feel safe in this recovery because the access to it is everywhere.