Our quitting of cigarettes thread

Sup pals! so I’m trying to quit smoking after 25 years. I have never tried to quit before. I have been thinking about a lot over the past couple months. I mean, I have young children man. I have to be around as long as I can.

Recap of my journey. I got a vape for my birthday on September 3rd. I started using it right away. My wifey knows me pretty well. So she got me the Tobacco flavor with the max amount of nicotine. Lol.

I finished the half pack I had left on September 4th and didn’t smoke again till like the 8th. Bummed 2 smokes. Then got a pack on a stressful morning this week. Smoked em all that day.

Then I bummed one today at work. So that’s when I started my timer. I don’t intend on bumming or buying any more.

Feel free to comment expirience, strength and hope on quitting smoking here.

18 Likes

Never smoked before, but I’ve heard that mouthwash and grapefruit juice help keep your pallet clean so you dont crave.

3 Likes

So much smoking.

I quit for a while with the patch once. It might have stuck if I’d tried any of the groups or counseling they recommend as they do for any addiction.

It was interesting in how it gave time to break the psychological addiction first. Realizing when it was “time for a smoke” that I didn’t actually have a craving, so maybe I should do something else. When it then came time to taper it was pretty easy.

Final time was actually vaping first. Then realizing I was actually taking in more nicotine, so I slowed down on that until I stopped as well.

It wasn’t long later I joined this forum to quit drinking and the same thinking here has helped stay smober (smoke sober, @Ninetales :rofl:).

2 Likes

[Removed by @System]

1 Like

I’m gonna try to jump on the non smoker wagon with you.

6 Likes