New here - just saying hello

Hey all. New here and just checking in to say hello.I’m a writer and a mom and have a weird relationship with alcohol and spending - both increase when I’m stressed and both are bad for me in different ways. Pretty good at stopping drinking but always find a reason to start again. not a super heavy drinker but enough to know I need to cut it. Hey, big question though, is anyone here not doing AA? I am not keen on that program.

21 Likes

Welcome @Beckyboo to the forum. There are people here who have used many different paths to achieve sobriety. I personally did not attend any programs, not really by choice is just a time thing for me. I used mainly this site, sobriety podcasts, audiobooks that sort of thing. Anyway, there is a ton of info and all sorts of great people here. Feel free to ask questions and have a look around. I think you’ll find the link below useful. Best wishes

Welcome to Talking Sober! 2023 update!

7 Likes

Welcome to TS, it’s a wonderful community and offers all kind of programs. Recovery Dharma, SMART, all type of anonymous groups and many more.

Congratulations of your decision to living life without a drug. :upside_down_face:

6 Likes

One thing I like about AA is that the literature points out that AA does not have a monopoly on sobriety. And there is no prescribed way to do the program.

Here is a whole bunch of ideas and tools for getting sober and staying that way. Blessings on your house :pray: as you begin your journey.

5 Likes

Welcome Becky. I’m pretty new here too but have seen lots of different types of recovery here. Stick around, read, join in. There’s a wealth of knowledge through experience around here, I’ve read no end of helpful posts here from users sharing their personal experiences, advice and support. I wish you the best of luck in your sobriety! :heart:

3 Likes