Day 8 sober…after 25 years of drug use

Hey y’all!
I am new to all of this. Never would I have thought I’d be 8 days clean from opioids. It’s so much harder than what people think but I needed somewhere to vent. I don’t even know where to start but expressing it, I already feel a ton better. Thanks for this opportunity!

23 Likes

It’s extremely tough. There is nothing in my day I’ve done without using pills and now I’m trying to do it all without them. I just hope it gets easier

7 Likes

Welcome to the community and great job on your eight days. That is really good. I have used all kinds of things, but opioids were my preferred DOC so I can sympathize with some of where you’re at. It is not easy to get off, but it is worth it.

I hope you will come back to this forum often and engage with others here. This really is such a great community and one of the most helpful things a person can do in getting clean/sober is finding a place they can reach out to others who understand the process.

There is a daily check in thread you may find useful, especially in these early days. You can do this. You’re doing great!

4 Likes

A quarter of a century.
Sounds even longer than 25 years, but that’s exactly what it is… a quarter of a century!

All things gifted and going well you could have at least another HALF A CENTURY of beautiful, healthy, sober life to crack on with.
Half a century!..
Sounds like a real long time, doesn’t it?
Definitely worth being around for, and soooo much living can be stuffed into that time.

9 Likes

Welcome Katie! Congrats on your 8 days!
That’s a fantastic start to your better life.
I’m an ex opioid user too and can relate to learning how to do everything in life without a pill. It’s a challenge but I can promise it’s well worth it.
Wishing you the best on your journey.

3 Likes