New to this, giving it a try

Hi all, I’m new to this and am not sure what I’m supposed to do lol
So, a little about myself; I am an alcoholic. I recently quit drinking, tomorrow will actually be my 60 day. I’m pretty excited and proud of myself for being able to go this long without a drink. However, I still can’t get over the feelings of remorse and self doubt. I know I’ve done some pretty crappy things when I was drinking, for that I am truly sorry. I have tried to forgive myself for my wrong doings. I just keep going back to feeling like I’m a bad person. I don’t know if the depression I feel is from the chemical imbalance that my brain is still trying to correct or what but it’s very tough right now and I’ve been getting cravings again. Strong ones… I’ve been lucky and have not slipped, I’ve contacted other members of the community when the urges come on but I’m worried that one day my demon may get the best of me. As for today, I am still sober and I am grateful for that. I hope you all have a blessed day and may you find the strength to get through another day without giving into your demons.

8 Likes

Wow, 60 days is amazing. This is a difficult journey. I have struggled with addiction and depression as well. You are not alone. There are so many people here to share your path and to listen and support you. I don’t have a lot of advice, but I do send strength and want you to know I’m here :heart:

4 Likes

My treatment had us write a goodbye letter to our DOC I think it was helpful

4 Likes

Thank you, I appreciate you reaching out to me. It’s good to know that I am not alone in this. I’ve been changing my group of friends to help avoid triggers and it sometimes can be lonely. I’m really looking forward to making new friends through my local program and on here.

3 Likes

That is an interesting idea, writing a letter. I just may have to try that. Thank you for the idea.

3 Likes